International Fact Check Day


 

I clearly remember the first April Fool’s Day that was presented to me.  Let’s face it.  One must be exposed to those who think it’s entertaining to fool you in order for you to realize that April Fool’s Day is a a thing.

I was six and my family had moved into the state on April First.  We had to take shelter with my grandparents until a place to live was found.  Until a job was found.

This was before the internet.  Before some list by Craig.

My uncle was only 13 or 14.  I remember him repeatedly pointing to the ground and saying things like, “Look, a snake!”

He may have got me to look once.  I am not even sure one time happened.

I remember being annoyed.

He was young.  Maybe younger than me.

I learn that today has been International Fact Checking Day.  Seems appropriate.

I’ll take part of a quote said to the world this morning on CNN.

Facts, reason, evidence, logic…

All I heard.  Apply to politics.  Apply to religion.  Apply to every single aspect of your life.

Hardly anything that our country has become.  Hardly anything this nation believes in.

Yesterday was April Fool’s Day.  It only makes sense the following day be International Fact Check Day.  After we spend a whole day trying to fool each other, we should spend a day checking the facts.

Complete irony.  After spending 99% (and I’m not singling out one day) of our time trying to fool each other, we should spend at least an hour fact checking the bullshit we are sold.

Better.

And then I watched this news program featuring John Dickerson.

If your mother says she loves you, check it out.

The fact is that every single day should be fact check day.  It’s our responsibility as Americans to question.  It’s not that there should be no trust, but we should learn who to trust.

The narrative in this country has turned from those who we completely trust as honest news reporters to those who we completely trust to tell me what I want to hear.  There’s a difference.  Because your side isn’t always right.

Your side may, honestly, always be wrong.  And so may the other side.

This isn’t a matter of right and wrong.

It’s a matter of truth and lies.

It’s the fact that news has become opinion spinning lies in order to get people to participate as they like.

I watched a segment on CNN yesterday in which eight Donald Trump supporters were used as a discussion group and asked how well they think the Donald has done so far.  Complete setup.  All but one gave Agent Orange an “A” grade.  The one that did not said he would not give an A.  Ever.

The fact is that the ultimate deal maker has yet to make a deal.  He has signed executive order after executive order.  And played lots of golf.  And wasted tax payer money at a record pace.

Fact check me.

All are things that Trump complained that Obama did.  And often.

We are so interested in taking sides and believing that our side is right, that we refuse to fact check anything that we are sold from the sources we believe to be true.

Fake News is a real thing.  It happens everyday.  Not like Trump pretends that it does, but so much of our media is opinion.  Why Koppel told Hannity he is bad for America.

As Dickerson said, it is easy to believe what we want when there are others who will support our opinion.  Thanks to the internet it is easy to find those with whom we can agree.

But who is checking facts?

I will again remind myself of two phrases I tried so hard to raise my kids on.

Think for yourself.

Question authority.

I still insist that even if Russia did do all that people are claiming, the blame lies on you.  The American people.

Fact check it.  Even if for only one day.

Somehow we were left with two of the most unpopular candidates in history.  And you were told to choose one.  Spinach or brussell sprouts?  Choose now!  Somehow half the nation decided not to choose and, instead, stay home.

Fact check me please.

And stop retweeting every asshole on twitter.  Fact check them.  You don’t even have to comment.  Just question internally.

Because, I’m telling you, even though the President keeps pointing at your feet and yelling snakes,  you might want to fact check that and look at what he’s hiding.

He hasn’t earned an A.

And he can probably point to more skeletons than snakes if you get him to.

Leave a Reply

