Music and Mood


I’m currently listening to Made Out of Babies.

I’m listening to Sugar.  It’s off the album Trophy.

Don’t search it.  I will give you everything you need.

I absolutely love the energy of this song.

I haven’t ever paid much attention to the lyrics.

I think, once upon a time, lyrics meant much more to me than they do now.  Good lyrics mean something to me for sure, but those are rare.  I’m about the energy.

When the new Trophy Scars came out (and sadly it sounds like their last album- I’m a huge fan) I loved the feel of the songs.  My oldest argued that the lyrics were dumb and made the album hard to listen to.

Chicago Typewriter is definitely about being haunted by ghosts, I was told.  I hadn’t really thought about it.

And then I was told, I feel like he keeps writing about the same girl he broke up with  years ago, and this may have been a true statement.

But the music.  The music and feel of the songs.  There’s an energy.

Music is as close as I’ve ever come to a religion.

That and the dog that is sleeping on my lap as I write this.  He smells really bad right now.

But music isn’t really a religion.

It’s about emotion.  It’s about feelings.  It’s about tapping into something and releasing everything which is bothering you.

Those who are truly into religion all are different.  Some just want to belong.  Some want to believe in something and interpret every word they read.

Some simply want to feel.

My wife loves the poetry and words.  She wants the singer to speak to her.

I just want to feel.  And it can’t be simple.  It can’t be dance music.

I love layers.

So I use Sugar by Made Out of Babies as an example.  I love this song.

Hi, I live on the corner
I crawl on my belly
I eat flies with honey
My teeth are all jagged
My sweater is itchy

I jump up and down
to get your attention
I’ve had too much sugar

No, i don’t do it right
I can’t seem to get it
I’m shaking with laughter

I follow you around
to see you home safely
And, I’ve had to much sugar
And, I see you home safely
I’ve had too much sugar

Oh, I’ve got scabs on my knees
I pick and I eat them
I dream about laughter

I have had too much sugar
I wait on your staircase to see you home safely
My, my skin is too cheap
I walk with a limp
I’m brimming with stories
and followed by strays
My toenails are sharp
My skin is too pale

I have had too much sugar
I wait on your staircase to see you home safely
I sing you to sleep
My thoughts are all bloody
Come get me, I can’t

I follow you around
to see you home safely
And, I’ve had too much sugar,
but, i’ll see you home safely

I follow you around
I crawl on my belly
I see you home safely

I follow you around
I’ve had too much sugar

I follow you around
Follow you around
I follow you around
Follow you around
I follow you around
I follow you around

What silly lyrics.  Honestly.

I’ve only ever heard some of them.  But this is a great song.

And I’m sad that Made Out of Babies is done.

The band got a new female singer and released an album as Bad Powers.  It was okay.

Julie Christmas released a solo album and went away for a few years.  She’s on my short list of great female singers.  Most don’t understand that statement.

So I was excited when I heard she sang on the new Cult of Luna album.

Short list of really good albums from this year.  So far.

To push my point across even more, Cult of Luna is more post-rock than anything.  The lyrics are the least important aspect.  The vocals are another instrument (when they even appear on post-rock).

So I leave you with a non-official video of Sugar.

I leave you with what passes for religion in my head.

I worship nothing.

I inject the sounds.

 

Leave a Reply

