That’s Even Worser


Strange conversation with one of the guys who works for me yesterday.

Somebody said something about something being crazy.  He told me that crazy is like the music I listen to.

He said, that puppy killing, devil worshiping music.

My music?

I said, first, I’d never kill a puppy.  Second, I don’t believe in the devil, let alone worship one.

His confused look was clear.

I told him I’m an atheist.

I could tell he was thinking about it.  He didn’t have an immediate comeback.  Odd for this guy.  No matter how bad, he will provide a quick comeback.  But this one took a moment.

Then he finally said, that’s even worser, because when you die, you don’t go anywhere.  You just become worm food.

To be clear, I am not making fun of this guy’s intelligence.  I honestly believe he is a fairly smart guy.  I am pointing out his education level.

I acknowledged that I do believe we simply become worm food at death.  That there is nothing to die for.  That, in my opinion, is the reason religions are so popular.  We all need a reason to live and die.

It’s comforting.

Like potatoes or a loaf of bread.

I’m sure that the guy who drove a tractor trailer over 70+ people today in Nice feels comforted.

#PrayForNice is trending today.  I don’t know why.

What will prayer do?

Pray for what?

But I can’t get his words out of my head, so I offer this.

………………………

You know what’s even worser?

Running over people in a truck knowing that you won’t survive in the name of religion.

You know what’s even worser?

Taking others’ lives with so little concern that you can commit suicide and take their lives as well.

You know what’s even worser?

Banning an entire religion or race from society.

You know what’s even worser?

Using war as a tool to improve the lives of the wealthy and destroy the lives of the poor.

You know what’s even worser?

Not understanding that a separation of church and state is a novel concept which deserves to be executed.  Laws should not be based on old scripture with current interpretations.  Laws should be laws.

You know what’s even worser?

Denying scientific analysis because it doesn’t fit in with your religious claims dating back thousands of years.

You know what’s even worser?

Denying scientific analysis because it might not fit in with your religious claims but it definitely doesn’t fit in with your profit model.

You know what’s even worser?

Any corporation or organization which pushes profit over life and happiness.

NRA.

Catholic Church.

Koch Brothers.

Wal-Mart.

You know what’s even worser?

Pushing an agenda that goes against everything that people stand for just to get your way in this life.  I’m looking at you RNC.

How about you live your life and other people live theirs.  If transgender bathrooms end up being the sticking point you think it is, your god will take care of all the sinners.

You know what’s even worser?

Not taking one minute of your life to understand others from their point of view.  We all come from different backgrounds.  We all come from different places.  Don’t judge or assume.  At least not vocally.

Taking an opportunity to understand one’s religion.

Taking an opportunity to understand one’s socioeconomic status.

Taking an opportunity to understand there is more than one type of person and belief system.  Regardless of what you believe.

It’s such a hateful, spiteful world at times.  And to push your agenda onto other people.

That’s even worser.

Leave a Reply

