Corporately Modified Information (CMI)


I just can’t watch anymore.

I just can’t.

I’m not sure how I did for so long.

The media telling me what to think and deciding what are real issues that need wall to wall coverage.

I’ll tell you what’s not interesting.  Candidates deciding if the other is “qualified” to be president.  As far as I can tell, none of them are.  Or all of us are.  Every single one of us.  Take your pick really.  Because they will all be propped up by somebody somewhere with some agenda.

More interesting to me right now is what qualifies as news.  Who decides what we are going to talk about and what’s going to get everybody all riled up?

Bill Clinton had some pretty interesting things to say to a Black Lives Matter protester yesterday.  Not news.

Hillary Clinton shoved her finger in somebody’s face and told her she’s tired of Bernie’s lies.  Not news for long.

Hillary Clinton kept saying that she felt sorry for the young people of this country who believe all the lies Bernie Sanders says.  Not news.

Will this be what brings Sanders down?

Will this be what brings Trump down?

I know it’s tough to fill 24 hours with news.  Well, 24 hours minus episodes of Lockup.  I mean, Lockup because we have a whole bunch of people who spend their lives in prison.  So we need to fabricate the news.  We need to give you interesting things to get you all riled up.  We need to figure out what will get people excited and what will get the candidates the media wants elected.

Twenty-four hours is a ton of time to fill.  And there is no real news.  It’s all talk and pundits and bullshit.  To help fill it, they invite the biggest bullshitters on to spout excrement as time filler.  That’s my only explanation as to how Ann Coulter gets to talk in this world.

She said during the Wisconsin primaries, “I love Wisconsin, it’s the home of Joe McCarthy.” and, women are going to need a lot more abortions if we don’t close our borders.

So Joe McCarthy was awesome and Mexicans are rapists.  Book her for the night of the New York primaries.  If she has time between Bill Maher episodes that is.

Let me get back on track.

So here we are.  Passive and obedient.  Arguing over meaningless things and not discussing anything worthwhile.

I guess I am confused what we would be talking about if it were not a primary season.  If the cycle wasn’t in full swing.  Is all other news and events not worth talking about?

I turned on the news for a minute today.  That’s all I saw.  Garbage piled on top of garbage.  I’m on strike.  Maybe that makes me apathetic, but I think it makes me care.  I feel as if all the major corporate news channels are trying to do is fill our brains with rubbish.  They are trying to get our minds to consume the equivalent of fast food made with GMOs.

Comcast and Time Warner and Fox are like Monsanto.  They are modifying the news to make it easier to produce while making it so easy to consume, but it’s so bad for us.  Very bad.

Propaganda is to a democracy what the bludgeon is to a totalitarian state.

-Noam Chomsky

What GMOs are to the human digestive system is what CMIs (Corporately Modified Information) are to the human mind and the flow of information.

See, here’s the thing.  You get some corn.  You think it’s corn so it must be good for you.  I mean, corn is good.  But it’s been manipulated through genetic engineering.  It’s not labeled as such.  So the corn you get may not be good for you at all.  Over 60 countries say that it’s not.  I just read that 88% of all corn produced in the United States in 2011 was GMO corn.

Here’s what I’m trying to say about the media.  You turn on a news channel.  It’s 1:00 pm, so your only choice is a 24 hour news channel.  It looks like the news because they have a person dressed all nice sitting behind a desk talking about issues and sounding all serious, but it’s really CMI.  It’s been corporately engineered to make you consume information that isn’t really important while thinking it is.  I am pretty positive that 94% of all news produced in the United States is CMI news.

But you really can’t tell, can you?  Just like the corn, it looks like real news and there’s a small chance it could be real news.

Why I would love to introduce CMI Labeling Legislation.  If corporations modified the news stories of the day in any way then the program should be labeled CMI.  This should be a thing.  Because there is real news in the world that is truly informative and we should have access to it, but we don’t know where to look.

I’ll end this with one more quote.  Then try to keep the earmarks out of my legislation because it will likely only pass if it includes a lifetime sentence for doctors performing abortions, a ten percent rise in the price of fossil fuels, and a lifetime supply of Laffy Taffy for Mitch McConnell.

How it is we have so much information, but know so little?
― Noam Chomsky

Leave a Reply

